Artistic Director and Conductor

portrait of VERENA MÖSENBICHLER-BRYANT

Conductor Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant has led the Durham Medical Orchestra … to be the equal, at least, to any amateur orchestra in the state … they do a remarkable job. — Bill Robinson, Classical Voice of North Carolina

Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant serves as the artistic director and conductor of the DMO. In addition to her work with the DMO, she is a Duke University associate professor of the practice of music and the director of the Duke University Wind Symphony.

Mösenbichler-Bryant grew up in Eberschwang, Austria. She began piano lessons at the age of 6, continuing later with church organ, flute, and bassoon. Her conducting debut at age 16 was followed by a three-year fundamental conducting course taught by Johann Mösenbichler. Mösenbichler-Bryant then studied conducting for symphony orchestra with Ingo Ingensand at the Anton Bruckner Private University in Linz, Upper Austria, and received her bachelor degree, with distinction, in 2005. She completed her Master of Music in 2007 with Kevin Sedatole at Michigan State University. Verena graduated in May 2009 with her DMA in Wind Ensemble Conducting from the University of Texas at Austin where her principal conducting teacher was Jerry Junkin.

Mösenbichler-Bryant serves as executive director of the annual international World Youth Wind Orchestra Project (WYWOP) and the World Adult Wind Orchestra Project (WAWOP) as part of the Mid-Europe festival in Schladming, Austria.

Mösenbichler-Bryant’s transcription of John Corigliano’s Grammy-winning work, “Mr. Tambourine Man,” for wind ensemble and amplified soprano, published by G. Schirmer, was strongly praised by the composer, and has received numerous performances since its 2009 premiere. Additionally, she has arranged and premiered Eric Whitacre’s “Goodnight Moon” for soprano and wind ensemble, available through Hal Leonard. She has also published an article in GIA’s respected Teaching Music Through Performance in Band series. She serves frequently as cover conductor for the North Carolina Symphony and as guest conductor and clinician across the United States, Japan, Germany, France, and in her native Austria.

Executive Committee members

officers@dmomusic.org

Conductor, Artistic Director
Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant
director@dmomusic.org

Concertmaster
Lisa Forman
concertmaster@dmomusic.org

President
Nick Bandarenko
president@dmomusic.org

Vice President
Marisa D’Silva Whitesell
vicepresident@dmomusic.org

Secretary
Yvonne Acker
secretary@dmomusic.org

Treasurer
Eniko Nagy
treasurer@dmomusic.org

Fundraising/Development Chairs
Jinky Rosselli
Bobbie Hardaker
development@dmomusic.org

Outreach/Education Coordinator
Lindsay Lambe
outreach@dmomusic.org

Concert/Equipment Coordinator
Bruce Klitzman
events@dmomusic.org

Small Ensembles Coordinator, Librarian
Susan Kundert
ensembles@dmomusic.org

Membership Co-Coordinators
Cathy Leathers
Kaitlyn Haynes
personnel@dmomusic.org

Reception Coordinator
Sarah Ringel
receptions@dmomusic.org

Social Coordinator
Liz Vaughan
social@dmomusic.org

Communications Coordinator
Sara Peach
communications@dmomusic.org

DMO Foundation Representative
Laura Hale
DurhamMedOrchFoundation@gmail.com